Anderson Cooper comes out


Anderson Cooper comes out

After years of speculation about Anderson Cooper’s sexual orientation, American brodcast journalist and TV host Anderson Cooper finally comes out.

Andrew Sullivan, Anderson’s long time friend, an openly gay Catholic, book author and blogger assisted Anderson in his coming out by publishing the admission email sent by Anderson to him on The Dish, Sullivan’s blog at The Daily Beast.

“I AM GAY.” The fact is, I’m gay, always have been, always will be, and I couldn’t be any more happy, comfortable with myself, and proud.

“I have always been very open and honest about this part of my life with my friends, my family, and my colleagues.

“In a perfect world, I don’t think it’s anyone else’s business, but I do think there is value in standing up and being counted.

“I’m not an activist, but I am a human being and I don’t give that up by being a journalist.

Anderson claimed that what prompted him to come out was the thought that by keeping mum about his sexual preference, he had given people the mistaken impression that he was hiding something.

“I did not address my sexual orientation in the memoir I wrote several years ago because it was a book focused on war, disasters, loss and survival. I didn’t set out to write about other aspects of my life.

“Recently, however, I’ve begun to consider whether the unintended outcomes of maintaining my privacy outweigh personal and professional principle.
“It’s become clear to me that by remaining silent on certain aspects of my personal life for so long, I have given some the mistaken impression that I am trying to hide something — something that makes me uncomfortable, ashamed or even afraid.

“This is distressing because it is simply not true.

Anderson’s admission was met with positive encouragements from two of Hollywood’s most popular and openly gay celebrities, Ellen Degeneres and Neil Patrick Harris.

Leave a Reply

