‘Thelma’ and ‘Asiong Salonga’ dominates 30th Luna Awards

Maja Salvador bags Best Actress award for Thelma

MANILA, Philippines—”Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story” bagged the best picture award at the 30th Luna Awards held at the Quezon Ballroom of the Quezon City Sports Club in Quezon City on Sunday night.

The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP), organizer of the awards ceremony, also bestowed upon “Manila Kingpin” lead actor Jeorge Estregan Jr. the best actor honor.

Other winners announced during the program were:

  • Paul Soriano (“Thelma”), best director
  • Maja Salvador (“Thelma”), best actress
  • John Regala (“Manila Kingpin”), best supporting actor
  • Lovi Poe (“Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow”), best supporting actress
  • Froilan Medina and Paul Soriano (“Thelma”), best screenplay
  • Odessy Flores (“Thelma”), best cinematography
  • Fritz and Mona Silorio “Manila Kingpin”), best production design
  • Jason Cahapay and Ryan Orduna (“Manila Kingpin”), best editing
  • Raul Mitra (“No Other Woman”), best musical score
  • Albert Michael Idioma (“Manila Kingpin”), best editing
  • Special Awards
  • Special Reel Award: Rodolfo “Dolphy” Quizon
  • FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award: Augusto Salvador
  • Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievement: Manuel “Jun” Urbano
  • Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award : Ben Feleo, Don Escudero and Jose Batac

The program hosts were Rez Cortez and Katya Santos.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s